Fears, Flaws & Fat Pants: the Studio Thirty Plus Post

This piece originally ran as a feature on Studio Thirty Plus.

It’s truly humbling to be asked to write a featured post in the middle of a slump the size of Texas (or California or Alaska–I’m not picking on anyone, just looking at large geographical areas). I feel like I’m at a black tie event in my pajama pants.

I will say this: I’m relatively confident I’m not wearing the ones with the hole in the ass.

Damn. I said, “ass.” Now I’m that blogger who said “ass” in her feature.

Sometimes I wonder if I shouldn’t keep my fingers to myself.

I meant in terms of typing.

(Now you all think I’m a perv as well as a verbal incontinent.)

The thing is, I’m usually not–a verbal incontinent (I am a perv, I just hide it moderately well). Mostly, I know how to direct my words. When I post, I’m wearing something suitable to the occasion: my snuggly robe for quiet parenting moments, fuck-me boots and fire engine lipstick for the sexy stories, something elegant for literary fiction, and Gap chic for my new business venture.

Never show up to your blog in your fat pants.

That’s like Blogging 101.

Never show up to a featured post in your fat pants.

Definitely on the exam for Blogging 102.

So, now that I’ve catastrophically failed my Studio30+ feature, what can I expect?

Hopefully, a few readers who recognize a fellow writer, more than a litle stymied, with all her fears and flaws on display for her gowned and tuxedoed peers.

In pajamas.

One response to “Fears, Flaws & Fat Pants: the Studio Thirty Plus Post

  1. I absolutely love this post (but you have a broken HTML link after “Gap chic” – I had to finish the blog post by reading the source . . . feel free to edit/delete this part of the comment) – I almost always am wearing what I wore to work when I blog, and I’m realizing that it may be affecting my creativity. Though, to write about running wearing compression pants and Vibrams sounds silly.

Leave a comment